While the Academy teams are formed based on ability, we never explicitly label any of the teams as the "first, second, third, etc.."  nor do we list them anywhere in sequential order.  

We do however name each Academy team after a current or historically great professional player in hopes to inspire each player to learn about the player their team is named after and to hopefully seek out opportunities to watch them play.

Spring 2008 Boys Team Names:  Aguero, Isco, Messi, Pogba, Ronaldo, Salah

Spring 2008 Girls Team Names:  Dunn, Ertz, Lilly, Long, Mewis, Pugh, Rapinoe

Spring 2009 Boys Team Names:  Altidore, Hazard, Kane, Lukaku, Ozil, Vardy

Spring 2009 Girls Team Names:  Heath, Morgan, Press, Sauerbrunn, Wambach

Spring 2010 Boys Team Names:  Neymar, Pulisic, Sanchez

Spring 2010 Girls Team Names:  Horan, Lavelle, O'Hara

Spring 2011 Boys Team Names:  Giovinco, Kroos, Wood, Yedlin

Spring 2011 Girls Team Names:  Leroux, Short